Emergency Services Authority

The El Paso County Emergency Services Authority (ESA) was established in 2014 between the City of Fountain and El Paso County to contract for the provision of ambulance service in El Paso County, Colorado. The ESA board oversees response time requirements and overall contract compliance with the ambulance provider within the contractual response area in the County. Assessments are based specifically on contractual agreements and are assessed on actual response time data. Assessments are formally approved by the ESA board at its open board meetings. It is the goal of the ESA to ensure excellent emergency medical and ambulance transport services is provided to citizens and visitors throughout El Paso County.


Agency meetings are held virtually on the third Monday of every other month at 3 p.m.

Members and Length of Terms:

The ESA board is comprised of eight members (Directors). Alternate Representatives are not included in this count. The Representatives and Alternate Representatives from the Fountain City Council, Board of El Paso County Commissioners (BoCC), and Pikes Peak Fire Chiefs Forum shall be appointed by their respective bodies. The Fire Chiefs Forum appointees are subject to approval of the BoCC and Fountain City Council. The County Commissioner Representative and Elected Official Representative from Fountain serve at the discretion of their respective bodies. Other Directors of the ESA serve at the discretion of the BoCC and Fountain City Council.

  • Commissioner Carrie Geitner
  • Councilmember Richard Applegate
  • Ed Dills
  • Fred Little
  • Dr. Timothy Hurtado
  • Dr. Julie Kiley
  • Trent Harwig
  • Sean Pearson

*For further information, please contact the Boards and Commissions Administrator at 719-520-6555.