Chair Waller Vice Chair Gonzalez

Commissioner Mark Waller as Chair and Commissioner Longinos Gonzalez, Jr. as Vice Chair

With two new Commissioners, the Board of County Commissioners restructured its leadership at Tuesday’s regular meeting, voting unanimously to appoint Commissioner Mark Waller as Chair and Commissioner Longinos Gonzalez, Jr. as Vice Chair.

Chairman Waller joined returning Commissioner Gonzalez and Commissioner Stan VanderWerf in welcoming incoming Commissioner Holly Williams and Commissioner Cami Bremer to the Board. Williams is the Commissioner for District 1, a seat formerly held by Darryl Glenn. Bremer represents District 5, succeeding Peggy Littleton.

“I appreciate the trust my colleagues have placed in me to lead this Board. Together we will accomplish great things,” Waller said. “Our county and the entire Pikes Peak Region are defined by our fantastic workforce, our great schools and all the wonderful outdoor spaces we enjoy. This Board, with ongoing help from our partners, both public and private, will continue to grow the community in a positive direction. I’m excited about the future and what it means to make our county an even more attractive place to work and raise a family.”

Vice Chair Gonzalez echoed Waller’s excitement, saying, “It’s an honor to be recognized by my colleagues. The addition of Commissioner Bremer and Commissioner Williams bring a fresh perspective. I’m sure that as we move forward into the next couple years that this Board will be able to accomplish some great things and help make El Paso County an even stronger leader in Colorado.”

Waller (District 2) and Gonzalez (District 4), along with District 3 Commissioner Stan VanderWerf, began their terms in January 2017.

“I am so proud of the great work we’ve done during the past two years,” VanderWerf said. “With this new Board, we have an opportunity to continue that work and even go beyond it. We have a great mix of talent with these five Commissioners. We will need a strong mix to meet the challenges we have today and those challenges we will be confronted with tomorrow.”

El Paso County Board of Commissioners Jan 2019 web

Commissioner Stan VanderWerf, Commissioner Cami Bremer, Commissioner Mark Waller (Chair), Commissioner Longinos Gonzalez, Jr. (Vice Chair) and Commissioner Holly Williams